Computer Science Industry Advisory Committee (IAC)

Department of Computer Science has the following Mission Statement:

The Computer Science Department at California State University, Sacramento will continue to be a department of choice for high-quality and innovative undergraduate and graduate degree programs in computer science, software engineering, and computer engineering. In addition to fulfilling the department’s educational mission, faculty engage in research and professional development that allows them to remain current in their fields and to provide technological leadership to the university community and the Sacramento region. The department makes a conscious effort to evaluate and incorporate new areas and technologies into its programs, and to serve emerging educational markets for professional (certificate programs, distance education, etc.) and interdisciplinary programs. Through its interaction with industry it participates in the development of new technologies that drives the local, regional, and national economies.

Based on the aforementioned Mission Statement, the Computer Science Industry Advisory Committee (IAC) was formed in 2005 to promote the continued delivery of a high quality education in computer science, software engineering and computer engineering, to enhance career opportunities for students, to enrich research and professional development for faculty, and to foster the growth of local and regional economies.


The IAC advises the Department on:

  • assessment,
  • the ABET/CAC accreditation process,
  • lab infrastructure planning,
  • student co-op and intern opportunities,
  • faculty funding opportunities and collaboration with industry, and
  • curriculum development.


The IAC consists of 10 – 15 members from industry or government agencies that are representative of the particular interests and concerns related to the educational programs in the Department. The Department Chair, Associate Chair, Graduate and Undergraduate Program Coordinators are ex-officio members of the committee. Candidates for IAC membership are forwarded to the Dean of the College by the Department Chair, and are confirmed by the President of the University. Currently membership is comprised of representatives from prominent local companies such as IBM, Intel, Hewlett-Packard, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, and Google.

Term of Membership

IAC members normally serve a two-year term and can be reappointed at the end of the term.

Chair of IAC

The IAC Chair is elected by members of the Committee and can serve a two-year term.

Schedule of Committee Meetings

The IAC is normally expected to meet twice a year in April and November.